A Druid Child’s Ritual

Standard

This ritual is designed for an older child who wants to do her/his own ADF rituals for the High Days or other occasions, either at his/her own shrine or back yard. Charter Oak Grove has a wonderful collection of children’s rituals that you may want to check out if you are leading a group of younger children in ritual. This, however, is for the child who has moved beyond needing the ritual to be filled with nursery rhymes and treats.
I’ve left out a few things that usually go into an ADF ritual, but I assure you it is still “ADF legit”, according to the “musts” of ADF Core Order of Ritual. I have left out the outsider appropriation, as I do in all my own ADF-style rituals, because it is one aspect of ADF that I just don’t believe in. I don’t want to set up a ghosti relationship with the outsiders (antagonistic spirits/deities), and I wouldn’t want my child to either. I do a periodic warding & hallowing of my home/ritual space instead. But feel free to adjust my ideas to your own tastes. I’ve kept it kind of short and adaptable; insert your own Gatekeeper deity, patrons or the occasion, etc. See my suggestions for altar set-up and offerings in my article “A Druid Child’s Altar”. Many aspects of his rite would work well for a family-style ritual as well.

A Druid Child's Ritual

Purify – sprinkle with water or spray self and ritual area with water (you could place a sprig of juniper in a spray bottle and have juniper water!).

Begin – ring bell or clap hands three times

Opening Words & Earth Mother Prayer
“I stand before the Kindred today to celebrate ______. Earth Mother, I am your child. May you receive my offerings and bless my rite.” (Bend to touch/kiss the ground and sprinkle offerings on the earth, if outside, or in the offering bowl, if inside.)

Honoring the Three Realms – meditate on the 3 Realms/Two Powers and sing this song adapted from “My Roots Go Down” by Sarah Pyrtle:
“My roots go down, down to the Earth. My roots go down, down to the Earth.
My roots go down, down to the Earth. My roots go down.
Down to the Waterways, deep below the Earth.
Down to the Waterways, deep below the Earth.
Down to the Waterways, deep below the Earth. My roots go down.
My branches grow high, high into the Sky.
My branches grow high, high into the Sky.
My branches grow high, high into the Sky. My branches grow high.”

three realms

Honoring the 3 Hallows
“At the Center of the Worlds there is a Flame.” (Turn on LED light on altar.)
“At the Center of the Worlds there is a Tree.” (Touch tree or tree symbol with a dab of water.)
“At the Center of the Worlds there is a Well.” (Place a silver bead or coin the well.)

Three Hallows

Calling to the Gatekeeper & Opening the Gates
“A Gatekeeper stands at the Center of the Worlds.
Gatekeeper, receive my offering…” (Place offering in bowl.)
“…and may the Gates be opened.”
(Wave a hand or wand over the Hallows, or ring a bell or bell branch over them. Picture in your mind the Gates opening.)

fancytriskel3

Calling to the Three Kindreds – with the song prayer “Threefold Blessing”  (set to the tune of “Triple Goddess Blessings” by Lisa Thiel)
“As it was, as it is, as it evermore shall be
Thou triune, Kindreds Three; Ancestors, Gods, and Sídhe.
With the ebb, with the flow, be with me, here with me
With the ebb, with the flow, blessings be, blessings be.”
(Place three portions of offerings in the offering bowl.)

Kindreds Three

Seasonal Customs
This section could be a time to sing a particular song for the occasion, enact seasonal customs, or recite a special story or poem for the holiday.

Omen
 “Kindreds, what do you want me to know?
Do you need more from me, yes or no?”
Use divination tool, think about results, and record them if you want.
(Offer more, if omen says too- this can be an offering of song/poetry/art- instead of food.)

Blessing Cup
(Hold up cup with both hands.)
“Kindreds bless this Druid’s cup- with your loving light to fill it up.”
(Imagine/feel the light of the Kindreds shining into the cup.)
“I will drink of the waters, the blessed shining waters.
I will drink of the waters, the waters of life.”
(Drink.)

Magic (optional)
This is the time in ritual to do magic, if you choose.

Giving Thanks and Closing the Rite
“I give thanks to the Earth Mother.
I give thanks to the Kindreds Three.
I give thanks to the Earth, the Sea, and Sky.
I give thanks to the Hallows of Fire, Well and Tree.
I give thanks to the Gatekeeper, and may the Gates be closed.
I go now, a child of the Earth, in peace and blessings.
As it was, as it is, as it evermore shall be.”

One response »

  1. Pingback: Kids’ Activities for the Autumn Equinox | Ozark Pagan Mamma

Leave a Reply

