a new start – with Ár nDraíocht Féin

Standard

Well, for us Celtic Pagans, the new year is finally here! For me, this season is one of changes.

Back in July, and for various reasons, I started feeling like I was drifting away from the (loosely Wicca-based) group that I’m in. I won’t go into all the reasons for that here, but if you really want to know, you can call me up for a chat over coffee. I suspect that I will still play some kind of part in WOL from time to time, but probably not like I have in the past.

You may remember me writing about my struggle between Celtic Reconstructionism and Wicca, and my brief stint as a member of Ár nDraíocht Féin (ADF) in 2001. (Due to all the changes occurring in my life at the time, plus the reality that there was no other ADF members in the area at the time, I didn’t renew.) Through the years since, I have often referred back to the ADF website for inspiration in writing ritual invocations, and finding useful chants. More and more, I found myself going back to that website, especially over the past year. Then I found that the few things that I didn’t like about ADF before (like previously unfamiliar parts of ritual like “outsiders offering” and “gatekeeper invocation”) began to really click with me and I seem to understand them in a way I didn’t before. I rediscovered the deep meaning of the Triple Center- Well, Tree, and Fire. And the “Three Kindreds” is a way of thinking of the Spirits that has stuck with me ever since I learned of it from ADF back in 2001. I began to realize that there is no other Pagan “denomination” that fits my beliefs as well as ADF.

So a couple of weeks ago, I decided to rejoin. I am really excited about it! I have begun work on the dedicant study program, and went to my first ADF ritual on Samhain. The ritual was very powerful and meaningful.

2 responses »

  1. I’m thrilled for you. The excitement and power of finding a path that resonates with oneself is one of wonder, awe, and enthusiasm! It is how I felt when I found Anderson Feri via Thorn’s work. … like a home coming.

Leave a Reply

