Some Imbolc Chants/Songs

Standard

The following are some songs that I have used for Imbolc rituals.  It is hard to find sound samples for many of these.  The first one, “Way to the Well”, I’ve only heard sung by friends and I don’t know if its available on a CD or MP3.  The song “Bergita, Goddess of the Flame” is from a mixed tape someone gave me a long time ago and I don’t know who sings it.  Bergita is the Swedish name for Bríde, I think.  “Queen of Fire” is an oldie that I have on cassette but to my knowledge was never released on CD.

“Way to the Well” (Words by Starhawk and Rose May Dance, Music adpt. from a S. African Freedom Song.)
We Will Never, Never Lose Our Way To The Well Of Her Memory
And The Power– Of Her Living Flame It Will Rise, It Will Rise Again.(x2)
Like The Grasses, Through The Dark, Through The Soil,
To The Sunlight — We Shall Rise Again. We Are Thirsting — For The Waters Of Life,
We Are Moving — We Shall Live Again. (x2)

“Born of Water” (from “Chants: Ritual Music” by Reclaiming & Friends)
Born of water, cleansing, powerful, healing, changing, we are.

“Return to the Mother” (from “Chants: Ritual Music” by Reclaiming & Friends)
(spoken: All over the world, the waters are breaking. Everywhere, everywhere, the waters are breaking.)
And so return, return return, return to the Mother.

“Holy Water, Sacred Flame” (from “Circle Round & Sing” by Anne Hill)
Holy Water, Sacred Flame, Brighid, we invoke your name.
Bless my hands, my head, my heart, source of healing, song, and art.

“Welcome Brid” (from “Through the Darkness” Reclaiming Chants performed by Beverly Frederick)
Welcome Brid. Oh Brid is come. Brid is welcome.

“Bergita, Goddess of the Flame”
Bergita, Bergita, Priestess of the Flame Bergita, Bergita,
Goddess of the Flame Awaken the flame within my being
Awaken the sacred flame within by being.

“Every Breath is Sacred” (from “Through the Darkness” Reclaiming Chants performed by Beverly Frederick)
We turn the wheel to welcome Her- Every breath is sacred.
Opening we welcome Her- Every breath is sacred.
As we walk this ancient path- Every breath is sacred.
We are stronger than we know- Every breath is sacred.

“Queen of Fire” (from “Mysteries of Earth” by Jennifer Reif)
Her Sacred Flame and Her Holy Fire, Light of Brigit, Light and Power,
Mother of Flame and Queen of Fire, Bring us Your Light and Your Healing Power.
Bring us Your Light and Your Healing Power.
Mother of the Land and Mountain, Mother of the Shining Fountain,
Mother of the Waters that heal me, Mother of the Love that frees me.
Great the night all dancing and singing.
Great the love that the goddess is bringing.
Each beloved, the Sacred Center.
In the fiery circle, the Goddess does enter.
Heart of love has burst with wonder,
Great this love both above and under.
The Starry Sky reclaims Her Voice and the Regal Earth lives to rejoice.
The Starry Sky reclaims Her Voice and the Regal Earth lives to rejoice.
Her Sacred Flame and Her Holy Fire, Light of Brigit, Light and Power,
Mother of Flame and Queen of Fire, Bring us Your Light and Your Healing Power.
Bring us Your Light and Your Healing Power.

*UPDATE: I have found soundclips or entire MP3′s for some of these songs that I previously couldn’t find:

Way to the Well by Ruth Barrett (soundclip)

Born of Water (sung by Lindie Lila)

Holy Water, Sacred Flame (soundclip)

(I also found out that Lisa Thiel sung “Bergita”, but i couldn’t find a clip for it.)

See “My Imbolc Playlist” for links to more Imbolc songs.

4 responses »

  1. Thank you, I love them all but my favourite is the Holy Water Sacred Flame nice and simply to remember & you really do get caught up in the chant.
    Blessings

      • That’s actually a completely different song from “Holy Water, Sacred Flame”. I have that CD “A Dream Whose Time is Coming” and it has some great songs on it. I actually I kind of avoid songs that address Brigid as “Maid, Mother, Crone” because, although she is a triple goddess, she isn’t that kind of triple goddess. :)

  2. Pingback: Journey Journal: To Light the Way. | Lifencompass

Leave a Reply

