The Three Realms: An Introduction for Children

Standard
 In ancient Ireland, people made their oaths by saying:
“May the sky not fall,   
May the sea not burst its bounds,
May the land not open beneath me,
So long as I keep my oath.”

The earth is the home of all life. She has three realms, which are necessary for life.
These are:
the Sky, the Sea, and the Land.

Land
We stand firmly upon the land.
It is our foundation. It is always beneath us.
The earth grows our food so we may eat
and the trees make oxygen so than we may breathe.
The land is the mid realm that we share with the Nature Spirits.
landSea
The sea always surrounds us.
All things need water to live. Water flows in an endless cycle.
All life began in the sea. The sea is the underground realm, home of the Ancestors.
seaSky
The sky stretches out over land and sea.
The atmosphere of the earth contains oxygen so that we can breathe.
Above the atmosphere,
The sun, moon, and stars all influence life on earth.
Without the sun, we would not be here.
The moon rules the flow of the tides, the rhythms of life,
And lights the sky at night.
The sky is the upper realm, home to the shining deities.
skySo when we say a blessing, prayer, or meditation of the Three Realms, we connect with the sacredness of all life. We imagine ourselves to be like sacred trees; our roots reaching through the land realm to the underground waters that flow to the sea, our trunk holding strong and steady in the mid realm, and our branches reaching up into the shining sky realm.
tree
The triskele is a symbol that helps us remember that we are all part of the Three Realms. It has three spirals or arms. Imagine each of these is one of the Three Realms.

The Three Realms: An Introduction for Children
 
9 responses »

  1. I have been wanting to teach my childern and this is a lovely, yet simple introduction the triple realms. I am happy to have found this and your blog. thank you.

  2. I’m glad you like it. I wrote this for my older kids when they were little and put it in a homemade book of Celtic Devotional materials and info for them. There are a lot of books about raising kids Wiccan, but not so much on raising kids Celtic Pagan. I’m just trying to fill in the gaps a little.

  3. Pingback: in brief, some differences between Wicca and Celtic Paganism « Ozark Pagan Mamma

  4. My brother suggested I might like this web site. He was totally right.

    This post truly made my day. You can not imagine just how much time I had
    spent for this information! Thanks!

  5. Thank you, I have been feeling a calling to learn about true Celtic practices and traditions. I am teaching myself Gaelic little by little, and was feeling somewhat drawn to Wicca simply because it is the closest thing in my knowledge to my natural spirituality. I am educating myself now about the differences between Wicca and Celtic spirituality, and feel blessed to have come accross your page.

Leave a Reply

