Three Kindreds Shrine/Altar Dedication

Standard

This is a short rite I came up with to hallow/bless/consecrate a home altar space.  I think it’s a good one to use whether setting up an altar/shrine for the first time or re-establishing one after a move.  Or perhaps your altar /shrine has been dishoveled or disturbed- that would be another reason to do a new altar dedication.
(Note: I usually consider the “shrine” to be the part where the Spirits (Three Kindreds) are depicted in art or statuary and adorned.  I consider the altar to be the part of the shrine, the flat surface area, where offerings and other ritual items are placed.)
Set up: Clean the surfaces where the shrine & altar will be set up.  Dust and clean all shrine figures and altar pieces and set up in the designated location.  Make sure candles are placed where the flames will not catch anything on fire.  Have ready incense for offerings.

Purification: Smudge altar with Juniper smoke, encircling with the smoke three to nine times.

Three Realms Blessing
“As it was, as it is, as it evermore shall be — I stand at the Center of Earth, Sky and Sea.”

Purpose
“I establish this shrine and altar to keep the old ways and honor the Kindreds Three;
the Ancestors, Nature Spirits, and Deities.”

Fire Lighting
“I kindle the sacred flames of my hearth and home in honor of the Kindred Three.” 
(light the 3 altar candles) 

Offering & Request for Blessing
“May this shrine be recognized by the Three Kindreds.
Nature Spirits, I offer you incense, peace, and welcome.”  (light incense)
“May these rites and this shrine honor you, and may you bless me and mine.
Ancestors, I offer you incense, rememberence, and welcome.”  (light incense)
“May these rites and this shrine honor you, and may you bless me and mine.
I call to my Deities; (speak the names of your deities)–
Shining Ones All, hear my prayer to you- I offer you incense and worship.”  (light incense)
“May this shrine and the rites of this household honor you.  I ask that you guide my path and bless me and mine.”

At this time, add more prayers, praise songs, or just meditate and be in the presence of the Spirits.
When ready, extinguish candles and say:

“As it was, as it is, as it evermore shall be.”

Leave a Reply

