AN IMBOLC RITE

Standard

(A part of my “little ritual” series.  Materials from, and adapted from ADF, the Carmia Gadelica, and other sources.)  For this ritual, make a Bríde doll, bed and Bríde’s girdle in addition to usual “little ritual” supplies.   (Bríde is pronounced “breej-ah”.)

Purification: the traditional purification ceremonies of Imbolc in addition to the usual Juniper smoke. 
 
Purpose
“I am here to keep the old ways
and honor the Kindred at the time of Imbolc.”

Three Realms Blessing
“As it was, as it is, as it evermore shall be —
I stand at the Center of Earth, Sky and Sea.”

Hail to the Spirits
“Hail, Earth Mother, whole and holy, honor unto thee! 
I offer now as the ancients did to the Kindreds Three!”
“To the Fair Folk, I give offering and welcome.” 
(place offering in bowl or fire)
“To the Ancestors, I give offering and welcome.” 
(place offering in bowl or fire)
“To my Deities, I give offering and welcome.” 
(place offering in bowl or fire)

Hail to Bríde
“Blessed Bríde, I give you offering and welcome.” 
(place offering in bowl or fire)
“Bríde, Bríde, come thou in, thy bed is made.” 
Repeat 3 times:  “Let Bríde come in, Bríde is welcome.”
(Place the brídeag in her bed.)

Fire Lighting  Light ritual flame, saying:
“I shall kindle this fire in the presence of radiant Bríde,
golden-flame of our hearth and home.
May she bless and preserve us, this fire of warming,
fire of wisdom, fire of hospitality that is here;
She, the branch with blossoms, red-cheeked Bríde.”
 

Bríde’s Girdle  Step through Bríde’s girdle 3 times, saying:
“Through Bríde’s girdle I am reborn- forever in the arms of the Goddess.”

Blessing Cup
“Holy Bríde, Great God Dagda, Shining Ones All,
a Child of the Earth calls out for your blessing.
Hallow these waters, O holy powers. 
Grant me the blessing I seek.
May the Wisdom, Love and Power
of the Kindreds Three
flow into this Cup of Blessing.”
(Hold cup out with both hands
and feel the energy flow into the cup.)
“This cup now holds the waters of life!
I drink this in the name of the Kindred.
May these waters I have received
flow through my body and through my spirit,
and may they pour out into the rest of my life.” 
(drink deeply)

Parting Blessing
“Bríde, gold-red woman, Bríde, flame and honeycomb,
Bríde, sun of womanhood,
Bríde lead me home. 
Bríde, you are a branch in blossom. 
You are a sheltering dome. 
You are my bright precious freedom. 
Bríde, lead me home.”

“I offer my thanks to the Mother of All. 
I offer my thanks to the Deities, Ancestors and Fair-Folk.
May the Three Sacred Kins bring joy to all beings,
and renew the ancient wisdom.
As it was, as it is, as it evermore shall be.”

One response »

  1. Pingback: My Imbolc & Dísablót « Ozark Pagan Mamma

Leave a Reply

