A MID-AUTUMN RITE

Standard

(A part of my “little ritual” series.  Materials from, and adapted from ADF, the Carmia Gadelica, and other sources.)  Bring a cornucopia of first fruits to this ritual in addition to the usual “little ritual” supplies.

*(Edited to note: I wrote this ritual when I was a Celtic Reconstructionist and scheduled it for this later date. For info on how to convert this ritual to an ADF format, see the “little rituals” article highlighted above.)

Circumambulation (Circle ritual area three times. Skip this if ritual is at home.)

Purpose
“I am here to keep the old ways
and honor the Kindred at the time of Mid-Autumn.”

Three Realms Blessing
“As it was, as it is, as it evermore shall be —
I stand at the Center of Earth, Sky and Sea.”

Fire Lighting
“I kindle the sacred fire in wisdom, love, and power.”
(light fire) “Sacred fire, burn within me.”

Hail to the Spirits
“Hail, Earth Mother, whole and holy, honor unto thee!”
(touch the earth if outside, give offering)
“I offer now as the ancients did to the Kindreds Three!”
“To the Fair Folk, I give offering and welcome.”  (place offering in bowl or fire)
“To the Ancestors, I give offering and welcome.”  (place offering in bowl or fire)
To my Deities, I give offering and welcome.”  (place offering in bowl or fire)

Greeting to the Autumn Equinox
(from the Celtic Devotional by Caitlin Matthews page 95)

Cornucopia
Hold up a small cornucopia of fruits and say:
“Earth, Holy Mother, Source of Nature,
you feed us while we live, hold us when we die. 
Everything comes from you, everything returns to you. 
What else could we call you but Our Mother? 
Even the Gods call you that.  Without you there is nothing. 
Nothing can thrive, nothing can live without your power. 
Queen and Goddess, I invoke you. 
You are all-powerful and my needs are so small. 
I ask that you pour forth your blessings
into these fruits to bless me and mine. 
We will receive in love and gratefullness
all that you bless us with.” 
Eat a sampling of the fruit, slowly, mindfully.
(Reserve the rest for the family.)

Parting Blessing
“I offer my thanks to the Mother of All. 
I offer my thanks to the Deities, Ancestors and Fair-Folk.
May the Three Sacred Kins bring joy to all beings,
and renew the ancient wisdom.
As it was, as it is, as it evermore shall be.”

One response »

  1. Pingback: Scottish Harvest Customs | The Lefthander's Path

Leave a Reply

