My Imbolc & Dísablót

Standard

This year I combined my Imbolc ritual with a Dísablót. A Dísablót is a blessing given in honor of the Dísir; the female ancestral spirits and deities who are the guardians of family and home. I used the ADF-inspired ritual I put together last year, and just put the “blót” part in place of the “Blessing Cup”. I didn’t have anything written ahead of time for the blót part. I just called to the Dísir, asked for their blessing, made offerings and libations, then asperged from the blessing bowl.

Imbolc-Disablot Altar

I offered incense and deliciously tangy buttermilk candy. I wonder if anyone has ever done blót with milk besides me?
I used a little table with a shelf underneath for an altar for this, so my brídeag hid under there till it was time for her to come out.

I hope everyone has been having a blessed holiday! Here is my recipe for Buttermilk Candy:

Buttermilk Candy
4 cups sugar
2 cups buttermilk
4 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 1/2 cups chopped nuts
Line an 8″ square baking pan with foil, leaving overhang on all sides. Grease the foil. Combine sugar and buttermilk in a heavy saucepan (I used my soup pot), and bring to a boil over meduim-high heat. Reduce heat to low and simmer until mixture reaches soft ball stage on a candy thermometer (about 234º F). This will take about 35 to 40 minutes, stirring constantly.
Remove from heat. Add butter, mixing with a wooden spoon until candy begins to thicken, about 5 minutes. Stir in nuts until mixture becomes a little difficult to stir, about 3 minutes. Spread into the prepared pan and let cool completely, at least 2 hours. Using the foil overhang, lift candy from pan and cut into 1″ squares. This candy can be stored in an airtight container for up to 2 weeks.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

