Coffee with Druids

Standard

Some things are a classic. Maybe this word has a different meaning to different people, but the way I can tell that something is “classic” is if it invokes a feeling of nostalgia or pleasant familiarity. Favorite nursery rhymes and songs from my childhood, apple pie, mary-jane shoes, and calico dresses… and as a person who has explored a lot of Pagan paths and keeps coming back to one, I am thinking of a new classic; ADF Druidry.

As many of you may know, I have been Pagan since 1986. I was some shade of Wiccan for more than a decade, then became a Celtic Reconstructionist, then after a few years tried a number of different things. I first joined ADF in 2001, then quit and came back several times throughout the last decade. In the beginning I found for each thing I loved about the organization, I found something equally annoying. At first I thought the rituals were too complex. Then I thought the Indo-European scope was too wide. Over time and many happy returns, I’ve found that all the annoyances have turned into loves. ADF has become part of my identity, my religion without exception, my new classic. I am ready to commit to it wholeheartedly. ADF gives my spirituality structure and inspires me to do more and be a better person.

So with that realization, I began to ask around my online community as to whether anyone wanted to start meeting and possibly form a discussion/study group. I decided that even if there were just a very few of us, that it would be worth doing. Giving up because start up was small would not be an option! I’ve “dug my heels in”, as the saying goes. Community has to start somewhere! Much to my pleasure I found that there are other people wanting ADF community here in northwest Arkansas. We’ve met a few times already and it’s been great!
Come out and see us sometime…

OZARK DRUIDS
ADF study & Discussion

Ár nDraíocht Féin: A Druid Fellowship (ADF) is an international fellowship devoted to creating a public tradition of Neopagan Druidry.
(Find more information on ADF at adf.org.)

Join local ADF members & friends for
discussion, study, and socializing.

WHEN: every 1st and 3rd Saturday of the month
TIME: 4pm.
WHERE: Arsagas Esspresso Café
7058 West Sunset Avenue, Springdale, AR

Find us on Facebook for further information:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/OzarkDruids/

update 5/19/13:

We now have Protogrove status! Meeting times/places vary, check our new website for details and more information: http://ozarkdruids.webs.com/

OzarkDruids-header

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

