A Druid Devotional for Kids

Standard

Because ADF encompasses all Indo-European cultures, I wanted to come up with something that any ADF family could use. These prayers are, for the most part, not culture specific. Many of them can be easily adapted to your specific hearth culture by inserting deity names in place of more general terms. Some Druids like to end prayers by saying “awen“. Others say “Biodh sé amhlaidh” (pronounced “bee shay ow-lee”) which means “so be it” in Gaelic, or the Old Norse equivalent “So sei es” (pronounced “zo zay ess”). You don’t really have to use an ending word/phrase, though. Some of these prayers are song prayers with links to the song or melody. Customize how you like and make a homemade book of prayers for your little one, adding clip-art or your own artwork.

morningprayers

Hail the Day
Hail the day, the sun, the sky!
May the Shining Ones give blessing.
Hail the Earth, and all Her children!
We are thankful for what we’ve been given.

~~~

Threefold Blessing  (set to the tune of “Triple Goddess Blessings” by Lisa Thiel)
As it was, as it is, as it evermore shall be
Thou triune, Kindreds Three; Ancestors, Gods, and Sídhe.
With the ebb, with the flow, be with me, here with me
With the ebb, with the flow, blessings be, blessings be.

~~~

Shining, Mighty, and Noble Ones
Shining Ones of endless Sky,
I pray to you; show me your light.
Mighty Ones who have gone before,
be with me as I learn your lore.
Noble Ones of leaf and land,
may we in peace go hand in hand.

anytimeprayersandblessings

Prayer for your Druid beads (Sarva Antah)
These three prayers can be used individually or as part of a Druid rosary. Click title above to hear them sung.

Ancestors, Ancient Ones,
Remember me as I remember you
Old Ones, hear my prayer,
And accept my offering of love.

Fur and feather, leaf and stone,
Aid me as I aid you.
Earth Spirits hear my prayer,
And accept my offering of love.

Gods and Goddesses, Shining Ones,
Honor me as I honor you.
First-Born of Earth, hear my prayer,
And accept my offering of love.

~~~

Shining Ones
Shining Ones hear my prayer,
keep me in your loving care.
Be my guide in all I do,
Bless all those who love me too.

~~~

Guardian Spirit
Guardian Spirit, always near,
Your watchful presence lingers here;
I’m thankful for you at my side
To light and guard
To help and guide.

mealtimeblessings

A Child’s Grace
The Gods are great, the Earth is good,
So let us thank them for our food;
By Earth’s bounty, we are fed,
She gives us all our daily bread.

~~~

Children’s Mealtime Blessing
Thank you for the world so sweet,
Thank you for the food we eat.
Thank you for the birds that sing,
Thank you Gods for everything.

~~~

Mother Earth, Gods & Spirits
Mother Earth, kind and good,
We thank you for our daily food.
Gods and Spirits we hold dear,
We thank you for your love and care.

bedtimeprayers

Goodnight Earth
The Earth is big and fat and round,
I love the sky, the sea and the ground,
I love the birds and dogs and sheep,
and all the animals that fall asleep,
I love the flowers and rocks and trees,
I love the Earth, and She loves me.

~~~

Nighttime Prayer
Now I lay me down to rest,
I know today I did my best.
Into the Kindred’s care I’ll be,
With Guardian Spirits watching over me.

~~~

Kindreds Bedtime Prayer
Kindreds bless and Kindreds keep
Three Kindreds watch me while I sleep.
Protect my health, my family, my home.
Protect my spirit as I roam.
Kindreds guide me through the night
And keep all nightmares from my sight.
Kindreds bless and Kindreds keep
Kindreds watch me as I sleep.

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: A Druid Child’s Altar | Ozark Pagan Mamma

Leave a Reply

