The 12 Nights of Yule


There are a couple of different versions of the modern Ásatrú 12 Nights of Yule, but this is the version I’ve seen most often:

1. Modranecht
2. Wild Hunt
3. High Feast of Yule, sacred to Thor and Frey
4. Sacred to Ægir, Njörðr & Freya (or sacred to the Vanir)
5. Sacred to Community
6. Sacred to Eir and Healing
7. Sacred to Thor
8. Sacred to Skadi & Ullr
9. Sacred to Odin
10. Sacred to Sunna & the Ancestors
11. Sacred to the Goddesses & Valkyrie
12. Oath Night

The twelve nights begin on the eve of the Winter Solstice. However, some folks begin to celebrate on December 20th, whether it’s the actual Solstice or not. This provides a standard start day year after year. But also, when starting on the 20th, Oath Night ends up being on December 31st, New Year’s Eve, resulting in it being a significant time in the larger culture as well.

We like to celebrate each night with a simple blót, lighting the candles on our Yule log, then having special foods and activities that follow the theme of the night.

Other things that many Ásatrúar do to commemorate the 12 nights is to reflect on one of the months of the past year for each night, and meditate on one of the Nine Noble Virtues on the first nine nights of Yule.


3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Kids’ Activities for Yule | Ozark Pagan Mamma

  2. Pingback: 12 Nights of Yule — Dough Ornaments | Ozark Pagan Mamma

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s