Sacred Hallows Within

Standard

One night not too long ago, I awoke and couldn’t get back to sleep. I’ve begun to develop a spiritual split personality. You see, I am a member of a Neo-pagan Druid organization (ADF), and have also started attending a Unity church. The bulk of my beliefs reside with the former, but I get a lot of good vibes and inspiration out of the latter. However, there are many incompatible beliefs between the two systems. So my insomnia, for the most part, was my brain trying to mesh, or find more common ground between; Unity and ADF. I’m still working on that, but one of the things that popped into my head that night was an idea for a Gatekeeper invocation in which the Gatekeeper is are the Three Kindreds themselves (as a collective), and the Hallows are within one’s own being.

I believe that it is important to acknowledge the Three Hallows at the center of our world, but I also believe that also, we all have the Three Hallows within us…

In modern Celtic tradition, the term “fire in the head” is used to refer to a visionary experience or divine inspiration. In scientific terms, we really do have fire in the head…
“Everything we do (and think, for that matter) is governed by impulses firing across synapses, or spaces between certain cells that guide communication in the brain.” –Julia Layton

The heart has long been thought of as the center of the body. Since water makes up about 92% of our blood and it’s the heart that pumps that blood, naturally, I associate the Well Hallow with the heart. The age-old idea that the heart is also the center of emotions (and in turn, emotions being a catalyst for healing) is now being studied in metaphysics by organizations such as the Institute of HeartMath.

The nervous system of our human bodies resemble branches on a tree. Just as branches reach out to sky and roots dig deep into the earth, our bodies connect us to life and all it’s experiences. To me, part of what it means to be Pagan, is to live fully in spirit and body, for spirit and body are one.

Sacred Hallows Within

5 responses »

  1. Oh my, this is just beautiful. I think this is also an excellent way for more science-oriented people who come to Druidic rites because of their desire to grow closer to nature but aren’t necessarily interested in Gods or spirits. My husband is like that, and I think this language and the analogy of the gates as body parts would work for him.

  2. I love this and am going to adapt it into a very technical and literal prayer for my science-minded boys. Amazing!

    A few weeks ago a non-ADFer asked me why those three things as gates, and without thinking much, I said, well, what makes human beings feel connected to something larger if not listening to a burbling body of water, resting inside a sweeping shade tree, or staring into a fire? These are places that connect us and in that way it makes sense to think of them when we need gateways to experiences with the kindreds.

Leave a Reply

