magical sachets

Standard

A little bundle of magical objects and herbs wrapped up in a flannel cloth and empowered as an active charm are traditionally called sachets in the Appalachians and Ozarks, but in other parts of the country they are known as mojo, charm, or spirit bags.

In making sachets, I use a square of flannel — not felt, felt is too thick and stiff! I use this instead of a drawstring bag, so that I can see the materials I am using and arrange them just so in the center of the fabric. I fold or bundle them up tight and tie with a cord when finished, though it is more traditional to fold it up and sew it closed. I usually use whatever color cloth suits my work. My go-to is the traditional red.

general ingredients (3 to 13 items)

  • plant materials (herbs, flowers, root, seeds, etc) a blend of several counts as 1 item
  • mineral- rock salt, charged crystal or stone (obsidian absorbs negativity)
  • a coin, usually silver (spirit money)
  • personal items of the person the sachet is for (hair/nail clippings, spit)

fixing the sachet
After arranging everything inside, closing, and sealing, the sachet is ready to fix. Consecrate it with sage or pass over a flame and through incense or breathe into it. Name it. It is a thought-form, a golem of sorts. Sweet talk it, tell it what you’re trying to achieve. Pray over it. (Being a Heathen, I use Sigrdrifa´s Prayer.)
Wrap up and tie with a miller’s knot. To feed the sachet, dress (dab) it with a tincture (see my articles on how to make ginger tincture and honeysuckle tincture). Some practitioners spray it with whiskey or rum through their teeth.

Keep the sachet against your skin for about a week (not tied around your neck where everyone can see, but tucked into a pocket, in a sock, etc.). After this, you can hide it where you want it to be doing its work. If it has to do with the home, hide it in the home. If for nightmares or prophetic dreams, under your mattress, etc. If it is primarily to work on you, continue to wear it in a pocket or shoulder bag you use every day. Feed it once a week with tincture or alcohol. Don’t show it to anyone. If anyone sees it, feed it and hide it somewhere else. Don’t let anyone else touch it, or the magic could be lost. You’d have to bury the sachet and start over.

magical sachets

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: flying devil oil | Ozark Pagan Mamma

  2. I love this. Thank you for sharing. I’m from MO Ozarks originally, and I believe you when you say flannel was the traditional material used, for I recall my great-grandmother tearing up old, worn flannel shirts into little squares, which she’d use in her folk healing (she’d rub her “polecat grease” on my chest whenever I was sick with the flu, then warm a piece of the flannel and lay that on my chest under my pajamas). I can totally see the traditional Ozark witch using what she had available to make her satchets–old flannel shirts! I’d love to know your sources for your article though, if you’d please share. Thanks again.

    • I’m glad you liked the article, Kal. It’s just plain old folk magic, which varies from region to region and from practitioner to practitioner. I learned the basic methods by the example of others who would rather remain anonymous.

Leave a Reply

