Our Little Thanksgiving

Standard

A few years ago, I wrote a blog post about my family’s emerging Thanksgiving traditions. In my opinion, it was golden. There are few things I would change today.

A couple of my kids have grown up and gone their own way and don’t always come to my house for this holiday, so we’ve scaled down food-wise… we make fewer starchy dishes, and just add dried cranberries to the dressing, instead of making the fresh uncooked cranberry sauce. Also, we make Turkey Breast of Wonder in the crockpot. Its so delicious, much less fuss, and frees up the oven for other baking.

We still use our Thanksgiving playlist, and the fourth season Thanksgiving episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer is still optimal viewing. Later, per my youngest daughter’s request, we go see the lights on the town square. I hate the cold, but its worth it to get to the square for kettle corn and hot chocolate.

We try to remember to make toasts. If I can remember to buy cider (Angry Orchard hard cider for this mamma), and get out the goblets, then I can usually remember to initiate making toasts. I hope you and yours are having a lovely holiday. Here is my favorite toast…

Hail the Gods, Ancestors, and Nature Spirits!
From the Kindreds, we receive
and to the Kindreds, we give.
Together we share,
and from this we live.

thanksgiving toast

Leave a Reply

