greenman doll

Standard

This greenman doll is bendable! Your kids will love hanging one from a tree branch or from an Ôstara basket. Here’s how I made it:

greenman doll template

Print out the template above. (If you copy and paste onto a word document, it should fill up half the page in landscape mode. If it doesn’t, shrink or expand to get the right size.) This doll is actually sewn before it is cut out, so you’ll need to trace the pattern onto the wrong side of your fabric. I used an iron-on transfer pencil and traced over the outline, then ironed it onto back of the fabric. With the right sides of two pieces of fabric facing each other and pinned in place on the corners, sew (a very fine stitch) on the lines all the way around. Now cut closely around the outside of the lines you’ve sewn. To turn the doll right side out, cut a small slit in the middle of the doll’s chest. Use a skewer get the skinny parts all the way pushed out. (Sorry I don’t have pictures for these first few steps… this doll has actually been in my basket of unfinished projects for years- from when I still had a working sewing machine.)

becoming a greenman

When you’ve got it all turned out, take a couple of chenille stems and twist one in the middle to the size of the doll’s head, and twist the ends down to form loops for the hands. Tape sharp ends down. The other chenille stem is for the legs. Bend it in half and twist loops at the ends for the feet. Tape sharp ends down. Insert chenille stems into the doll casing through the slit cut in the chest. When they are in place, fill the doll with stuffing, putting in little bits at a time and pushing into place with a skewer. When the stuffing is even all over, sew the slit in the chest closed by hand.

greenman doll comes to life

Glue a silk leaf onto the doll’s chest wound. (Re-purpose the leaves from old silk flower arrangements found at a thrift store.) I hot glued three onto this one’s chest at different angles. For the face, I folded a leaf in half and cut leaf and horn shapes around the edges. I’ve made some before using several very small leaves arranged around the face. Paint on or draw on features with a marker and you’re done!

greenman doll - Ozark Pagan Mamma

7 responses »

  1. Oh, how cute!

    Poppets and stuff like that are fun to make, and personalize. I had found some info on using Bedstraw (Gallium spp.) to make poppets out of a while back. There are so many things one can use these for.

    Very nice “how-to”!

    – Rev. Dragon’s Eye

  2. Blessed Be! My name is Kazan Clark and I am co-hostess on Blog Talk Radio’s Pagans tonight’s Ask A Witch Radio show. I am looking for Pagans who have experience home schooling their children. If you can be of any help in this endeavor, please let me know. Our listeners have expressed an interest in this topic and I would like to give them all the information I can. By the way, I am in Havana, Arkansas, at the foot of Mt. Magazine. Thank you.

  3. Just love your little Greenman doll and can’t wait yo make one of my own. I am currently doing a series of Greenman hand embroidery pieces for a quilt.

Leave a Reply

